Top ▲

Diacylglycerol kinases

Unless otherwise stated all data on this page refer to the human proteins. Gene information is provided for human (Hs), mouse (Mm) and rat (Rn).


Click here for help

« Hide

There are ten diacylglycerol kinase genes in humans. The enzymes (DGKs α, β, δ, ε, γ, η, ι, κ, θ and ζ) catalyse the conversion of diacylglycerol (DAG) to phosphatidic acid (PA) using ATP as the phosphate source. DGK activity is increased by receptor-mediated activation of the phosphoinositide pathway. The enzymes control switching between DAG and PA lipid signalling in cells.


Click here for help

diacylglycerol kinase alpha Show summary »

diacylglycerol kinase zeta Show summary »


Click here for help

Show »

How to cite this family page

Database page citation:

Diacylglycerol kinases. Accessed on 02/03/2024. IUPHAR/BPS Guide to PHARMACOLOGY,

Concise Guide to PHARMACOLOGY citation:

Alexander SPH, Fabbro D, Kelly E, Mathie AA, Peters JA, Veale EL, Armstrong JF, Faccenda E, Harding SD, Davies JA et al. (2023) The Concise Guide to PHARMACOLOGY 2023/24: Enzymes. Br J Pharmacol. 180 Suppl 2:S289-373.