"NC-IUPHAR" is the Nomenclature and Standards Committee of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology. The mission for NC-IUPHAR was initiated in 1987 at the Xth International Congress of Pharmacology. In 1989, the Executive Committee of IUPHAR named Paul Vanhoutte (Hong Kong) as chairman of a revised and enlarged committee. This committee energetically expanded its activities and the number of subcommittees (to 33), eventually producing the first official compendium on the occasion of the XIIIth International Congress of Pharmacology at Munich in 1998. Robert Ruffolo (USA) was Chairman of NC-IUPHAR from 1998-2002. Michael Spedding (France) became Chairman in 2002 and was elected again in 2006 and 2010. This role was taken over in 2015 by Steve Alexander (England) as Michael Spedding moved to hold the post of Secretary-General of IUPHAR.

NC-IUPHAR has the objectives of:

  1. Issuing guidelines for the nomenclature and classification of all the (human) biological targets, including all the targets of current and future prescription medicines;
  2. Facilitating the interface between the discovery of new sequences from the Human Genome Project and the designation of the derived entities as functional biological targets and potential drug targets;
  3. Designating polymorphisms and variants which are functionally important;

NC-IUPHAR membership


NC-IUPHAR subcommittee membership and a list of database contributors may be found on the Contributors page.